Living in Glasgow

Well the past few days have been a whirlwind. I’ve hiked through Glasgow to the point that my feet hurt. I travel mostly with my American friend who I met at the airport. We have hit up the Merchant City that claims the second best shopping in the UK. We have also taken about four trips on the Glasgow subway system (SPT) and are gradually getting our bearings. Last night we received insider info on the city from a grad student who just finished up. She is from Colorado and she showed us some local pubs and some clubs, which allows you to drink later when the pubs close down. My ‘accent’ and expressions has me sticking out like a sore thumb but it makes me seem exotic and people always want to know where I’m from and why I’m here. One of these conversations happened at a post bar eatery where I had my first fried pizza slice. Yes it’s exactly what it sounds like and then you throw some vinegar on it. This innovation brought to you by the same people who invented the deep fried mars bar. Some things seem to be universal and greasy carb-heavy food seems to mix with boose anywhere you go.

Explore posts in the same categories: scotland, travel

Leave a Reply

